Hello and Welcome! A Fall Recipe

Hi! Thank you for stopping by. This is the first of, I hope, many blogs. I will try to do one post a week. This is the perfect time of year for me to start a blog about food. I love Fall and I especially love the foods that come with it. This week I have really worked on integrating typical Autumn fare into my meal planning. The dish I made this week that I am so proud of is Sausage Stuffed Acorn Squash. It has all of those fall favorites (think squash, cranberries, apples, yum!). With a growing family I try hard to create balanced meals that are also enjoyable to my over worked husband, my picky toddler and my 10 month old who is just now trying new foods. Want to know a secret? This meal was a hit! My toddler cleaned his plate- he even ate all of his squash! Okay, I won’t keep you waiting anymore.

Sausage Stuffed Acorn Squashsausage-apple-cranberry-stuffed-acorn-squash

Sausage Stuffed Acorn Squash

1 lb pork sausage- chorizo is a great option if you want some spice

1/2 c. chopped onion

1/2 c. chopped firm apple- like Granny Smith

1/4 c. white wine- not cooking wine. it has salt already added.

1 c. cooked quinoa- you could use almost anything: brown rice, lentils, farrow

1 c. Parmesan cheese

1/4 c. of dried cranberries- opt for no sugar added if carbs are a concern

1 tbsp. EVOO- extra virgin olive oil

1/4 tsp. rubbed thyme (1 tsp if fresh thyme)

1/2 tsp. oregano (1 tsp if fresh oregano)

1/2 tsp. salt (more to taste if you like)

1/4 tsp. pepper (more to taste if you like)

3 medium acorn squash- washed, halved, and seeded (chop a bit off each end so it will stand up in pan)

  1. Preheat oven to 400*
  2. Rub olive oil over halved and seeded squash. Salt and pepper to taste. Place on rimmed cooking sheet, bowl side up.
  3. Bake 40-60 minutes- until you can pierce squash with fork but it holds its shape.
  4. While squash is baking cook sausage over medium-low heat until almost done. About 8 minutes.
  5. Remove sausage from pan. turn heat to high and add onions. Saute about 5 minutes.
  6. Add sausage back to pan and apples. Saute 3 minutes.
  7. Add wine and cook 2 more minutes. Remove from heat.
  8. Mix together quinoa, cranberries, 1/2 c. of Parmesan, olive oil, thyme, oregano, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Add meat mixture to bowl and toss to combine.
  9. When squash is ready, spoon meat mixture in. Sprinkle remaining Parmesan on top and bake additional 10-15 minutes.
  10. Enjoy! -yes, it’s in the directions so you must.

Let me know what you think about this meal in the comments 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

