Thanksgiving: Garey Hashbrown Casserole Recipe 

It is the day after Thanksgiving here in South Korea. I am thankful for my husband, my children and this adventure we are on! As I see posts on Facebook about people finishing cleaning up from Thanksgiving  and preparing for the craze that is a Black Friday, I can calmly reflect on yesterday’s food. Overall, it was pretty good! Since it was just my husband, my son and daughter, myself and a tiny oven, we did not do the huge turkey with 50 different sides. The menu was simple enough: chicken stuffed with spinach, cranberries and melty cheese, a Brussels sprout, squash, cranberry and pecan roast (or maybe salad?), homemade (partially whole grain) dinner rolls, the famous Garey Hashbrown Casserole and for dessert a pecan pie cake roll, that I basically destroyed. Even with only making 5 things in total it was a whole day of cooking. I started early with the dinner rolls as they had to rise, roll out, and rise again before baking. Then the cake as it had to cool before adding the filling. It crumbled as I rolled it, but ended up being really Tastey. Then prepped and roasted the Brussels sprouts and squash as I mixed the casserole ingredients together. As the potatoes were in the oven I got the stuffed chicken together. A quick finish in the oven and the meal was ready to go. We had a great dinner by 5:30 pm and the kids in bed before 7. The meal was a great size, we were not overstuffed and we got plenty of color to eat. I didn’t originally plan the Hashbrown casserole but the husband requested it as a traditional food from his Thanksgivings growing up. I will write out the recipe for the casserole and share the links for the other food I made and add what I changed in the recipes. 

Garey Hashbrown Casserole

32 oz bag of frozen hashbrowns (thawed)

2 c. Shredded cheddar cheese 

12 oz. sour cream 

1 10oz can cream of chicken soup

1/2 c. Butter (melted) 

2 tbsp minced onion

1 tsp salt 

Corn flakes for topping 

Directions: preheat oven to 350*. Mix all ingredients except corn flakes in large bowl. Pour into lightly greased 9×13 casserole dish. Crush corn flakes and sprinkle evenly on top. Bake 45-60 minutes. Enjoy! 

Stuffed Chicken: http://ifoodreal.com/chicken-stuffed-with-brie-spinach-cranberries/#_a5y_p=5935620

Brussels sprouts/squash salad: http://juliasalbum.com/2015/10/roasted-brussels-sprouts-cinnamon-butternut-squash-pecans-and-cranberries/

Dinner rolls: (I used 2 cups of white flour and 1 cup of whole wheat. I also added 1 cup of warm milk rather than the cup of warm water and powdered milk)  http://www.thebakerupstairs.com/2013/11/soft-and-buttery-pull-apart-dinner-rolls.html?m=1

Pecan Pie Cake Roll: http://www.homemadeinterest.com/pecan-pie-cake-roll-2/

Leave a Reply

