Chili and Cinnamon Rolls

Can you believe I didn’t even get a picture of the chili? Me. The picture happy mom. All well, next time I make it, I’ll take two. I don’t know about you, but chili and cinnamon rolls go together like peanut butter and jelly or cheese and sprinkles. It’s that good. I rarely follow a recipe to make chili. It’s one of those go to, throw all the things in the pot and simmer and your meal is done. Tonight’s chili was on point though. It has been really cold lately so a big pot of warm chili was great! It wasn’t spicy at all (I took all the seeds out of the pepper) and my toddler cleaned his bowl. The baby, on the other hand, got chili everywhere but in her mouth. How thentiddler snubbed my awesome cinnamon rolls, I’ll never know. They are Cinnabon knock offs and my husband could be a cinnamon roll officnado, he loved them.  I’ll leave a link for them too 🙂 Here are the cinnamon rolls 

My Throw Together Chili

1 lb. ground beef

1 c. Chopped onion 

4 cloves of garlic diced 

1/2 red bell pepper diced 

1/4 c. Red wine (I used a sweet raspberry that really worked well)

1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes 

1-2tbsp Chili powder

1 tsp dry oregano 

1 dried chili diced (keep seeds in for heat)

1/2 tsp salt

1 16 oz can red kidney beans 

Hot sauce (optional) 

Toppings: shredded cheese, sour cream, green onions 

Directions: over medium heat, brown beef in large pot. Remove beef from pot, but keep drippings. Turn heat down to low. Add in chopped onion and bell pepper. Summer until translucent, 15-20 minutes. Be careful not to burn. Pour in red wine to deglaze pan and bring to boil. Add crushed tomatoes, chili powder, oregano, salt and dried pepper. After it has reached boiling again, turn heat to medium low. Simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add in drained kidney beans (you don’t have to rinse) and simmer an additional 10 minutes, or until chili has reached desired consistency. Serve chili hot with toppings and cinnamon rolls and enjoy! 

Cinnamon roll recipe: http://www.jocooks.com/bakery/breads/cinnabons-cinnamon-rolls/ 

Leave a Reply

