First Day Gluten Free

It’s a fad now, isn’t it? To go gluten free. You can find everything gluten free: crackers, bread, candy… the list goes on. Here is the thing. I am not so faddish. I have done things like the 21 Day Fix Beach body Diet, but really only because it made me make sure I was eating my vegetables.

After being diagnosed with diabetes in 2012, I was subsequently diagnosed with a whole host of other autoimmune disorders. Turns out, one begets another. I went from being a healthy young 24 year old to a walking talking autoimmune disorder: Type 1 diabetes, PCOS, Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, Alopecia, and guess what else?! An intolerance of gluten.

What? No gluten? No way. We were stationed in Germany and there was no way I was about to give up the dark German bread or the dark German beer. My doctor said hey, you just have the antibody, if you don’t have symptoms, it’s up to you what to do. Perfect, I wasn’t going to stop drinking beer anyway.

Fast forward to the last 6 months. I’m over 30 now. It really does do something to you. All of those things I have ignored have sorta come back to bite me (not the Diabetes, I have been on insulin controlling that little booger). Pardon the TMI, but everyday I had excruciating gas. I mean to say, I would have to get out of bed at night and do different yoga poses while eating activated charcoal like it was candy to find relief.

Over the past couple weeks I have reconsidered the gluten thing. Perhaps, cutting that out would really make me feel better. So, here I am. Day 1 into cutting gluten out of my life. I have sorted through and gotten rid of most gluten containing products (aside from a couple things only the kids eat). With today being Monday our evening meal was not only gluten free, but also vegetarian.

Guess what?! The kids both asked for seconds. I guess I didn’t do too bad cooking from my imagination rather than a recipe. Though, I will have to rework my coconut flour muffins from this morning.

Vegetarian Quiche and Chili Potatoes.

I don’t have a recipe, and didn’t measure anything, but this is what I did:

Quiche: had red bell peppers, onion, garlic and spinach fried in olive oil. Divided the mixture into muffin tin and about one egg per tin. I also apr billed mozzarella cheese on top. Baked at 400 for about 20 minutes.

Potatoes: two russet diced. Cover with olive oil, sprinkle chili powder, salt, pepper, garlic powder. Make sure all taters are covered and bake 20 minutes on 400, stirring half way through.

#glutenfree #firstday #diabetic #type1 #autoimmunedisorders #foodislife mommalovesfood

Leave a Reply

